Posted on

Why Did I Watch Dead Heat?


During the dark period of Saturday Night Live there was only one reason to watch – Eddie Murphy. Period. I know Hollywood wanted Joe Piscapo to be a star until they realized what SNL viewers already knew…he was bland. There is nothing he has ever done that people look back on with fondness. Even Jon Lovitz has Mom & Dad Save The World. And, let’s face it, that really is a bad movie.

Dead Heat stars Piscapo and Treat Williams as a couple of boring cops doing boring cop stuff. Then criminals won’t die when the LAPD uses excessive force. Eventually we discover they are the undead. Then Williams and Piscapo join the undead ranks and fight against their own kind to bring down their crime spree.

This was supposed to be an action comedy yet the action sucked and the comedy wasn’t funny. I tried to think back to what made me laugh as a child to see if it made the movie better. It didn’t. In fact, I couldn’t think of a single kind thing to say about this movie other than Treat Williams seemed to really be trying to elevate the material to something he wouldn’t be ashamed of.

When I had the chance to interview Bill Oberst Jr. he told me that about how he goes into some movies with the best intentions. He said Abraham Lincoln Vs. Zombies was a good script that was hampered by budget. I believe that. I don’t know if that was the case with Dead Heat or if it was an inexperienced director making bad choices. Either way the finished product was not good. I like Williams. His performance in Things To Do In Denver When You’re Dead was amazing. His performance in Dead Heat was good. I’m really liking what he’s doing on White Collar right now. It’s just a shame that his promising career in the 80’s was destroyed by this kind of mediocre material.

I harbor no ill will toward the writers, director, or stars of this film other than the fact that I wastes an hour and a half of my time watching it. This movie gets 1/2 star out of 5. It’s painful to sit through.

About RobotVampireProductions

Writer, director, blogger, podcaster

Leave a Reply

